Thursday , October 19 2017
Home / World Marijuana News / These 6 States Have Extremely Harsh Marijuana Possession Laws

These 6 States Have Extremely Harsh Marijuana Possession Laws

Marihuana
Marijuana legalization is sweeping across the United States, but there are still a few states with excessively harsh marijuana-related penalties. Below are a few states to be very cautious of.

Louisiana

In Louisiana, growing just one marijuana plant or distributing any marijuana can result in 5-30 years in prison and a $50,000 fine.

Indiana

Indiana legalized cannabidiol (CBD) for epileptic patients in 2017, but possession of a single marijuana joint can lead to one year in prison and a $5,000 fine.

South Dakota

Simple possession of marijuana flower in South Dakota can lead to one year in jail and a $2,000 fine, while possession of marijuana concentrates can lead to 5 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

Arizona

Arizona legalized medical marijuana for certain medical conditions in 2010, but marijuana possession without a medical marijuana card is a felony with years of possible jail time. Furthermore, Arizona has a zero tolerance driving law, so any trace of marijuana in a person’s blood can result in felony DUI.

Texas

Texas legalized a low-THC medical marijuana law for certain qualifying conditions in 2017, but possessing 2 ounces or less of marijuana can lead to 6 months in prison and a maximum fine of $2,000.

Wisconsin

Wisconsin legalized cannabidiol (CBD) for epileptic patients in 2013, but marijuana possession of less than one ounce can lead to 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine.

Article originally published on Kynd Lyfe Cannabis Clothing