A recent poll, conducted by Rasmussen/KNTV, showed that 53 percent of Nevada residents support legalizing recreational marijuana. If voters approve legalization, sales could begin as soon as January 1, 2018.
When the Nevada Legislature reconvenes in 2017, it would be tasked with clarifying laws and making necessary adjustments, according to Las Vegas Sun.
What would be allowed for adults ages 21 and older:
- Possession of up to 1 oz marijuana or 1/8 oz marijuana concentrate (shatter, oil, wax, etc.)
- Use of marijuana or edibles within the confines of your own property (indoor/outdoor/front or backyard)
- Use marijuana on someone else’s private property (friend/family member’s home) or where outdoor consumption permits are in place with licensed establishments
- Grow no more than six plants for personal use for those 25 or more miles from a medical marijuana dispensary with a limit of 12 plants per household.
What wouldn’t be allowed:
- Providing marijuana to anyone under age 21, felony or misdemeanor charges could be imposed along with a $600 fine
- No consumption of marijuana or marijuana-infused products in bars or casinos.
- No growing on rented property, you must be a landowner or have written consent to grow on a landlord’s property. A $600 fine and misdemeanor criminal charge could occur for a first offense, increasing to $1,000 fine for a second offense and stiffer penalties for repeated offenses
- No marijuana establishments of any kind within 1,000-feet of schools, 300-feet from community centers (parks, churches, daycare centers, playgrounds, etc.). Permits will not be granted for businesses not following zoning guidelines
Current medical marijuana dispensary owners would be permitted to build new recreational marijuana facilities for the first 18 months of the law going into effect. All current medical marijuana businesses would be included. This includes those producing marijuana use devices like pipes and bongs.
Licenses will be limited per county based upon the population of the county. If a county has 700,000 or more residents, up to 80 retail marijuana establishments are permitted. Those with 100,000 to 700,000 residents could license 20 retail shops. Four licenses are available for counties with 55,000 to 100,000 residents and two licenses for populations of 55,000 or lower.
Licensing fees are as follows:
- $3,300 annually for product manufacturing facilities
- $5,000 for annually wholesale distributor and testing facilities
- $6,600 annual retail store licensing fee
- $10,000 annual cultivation licensing fee
- $15,000 – wholesale distributors and testing facilities
- $20,000 – recreational retail store
- $30,000 – cultivation facility
Twelve Nevada counties have banned medical marijuana, and only four counties allow medical marijuana dispensaries to operate.